Be Friends with Your Ex? Should you?

24 Jun

Heart broken, tears were shed. Anger & disappointment filled up my heart when the person I trusted & loved so much made the choice to leave me for good with no turning back. After 3 years of relationships with him, it’s over pretty badly. That would be the feeling I had 3 years ago when he chooses to leave and to go to a “NEW Frontier”, as per he claimed. So called new environment. I called it the new bit*h.

Since months ago, I received numerous times of friend requests on my friendster, facebook from him. He still continued to pursue to get my approval on my facebook & Friendster. I didn’t even bother to look further and clicked “IGNORE” or “REJECT”. He even viewed my Multiply website for several times as it were reflected in the history record on Multiply. Wow!Impressive! Didn’t thought he made so much effort to check me out. Not that I could remember when he was with me.

He even sms-ed me all the cheap forwarded message that created a “teddy-bear” shape on the screen of your hand phone at late nights. A “how are you?” sms too, to my surprise. Well, I replied back: “Who’s this?” He was quite surprised that I don’t recognized his phone number as he never change it since ages. As usual, I’m just being a bit*h and ignored him.

But then again, heard that he broke up with the sl*t this year. Opss! Did I said that?! So what?! That’s the fact anyway. No need to hide the truth as I am not afraid to say it out loud. I would like to “congratulate” him for being single again! As he used to complain that being attached with someone gave him headache. Well, now he’s free as a “bird”.

Honestly, I don’t want to be friends with him anymore. If you ask me whether you should be open up & be friends again after break-up, I would say “No”. I choose to move on instead. Now I am currently working on my career & having a great time with my new guy who cherish me for who I am. Why even bother to turn back to be his friends and act nothing happened before?

A Chinese Proverb that my friends used to quote: “A Good Horse do not eat Recycled Grass” (Sounds weird. I am trying to get the meaning of it & translated into English)

Well, if he did not get the meaning when I kept rejecting his request; I have to say, thanked God I’ve nothing to do with this idiot. He still have the balls to come into my life after he crushed it. My advice, if the break-up was a bad one, don’t even bother to be friends with, EVER. If a mutual one, just stay cool but with slowly moved out from his circle of life & MOVE ON.

What do you think?
Do you agree with me?

5 Responses to “Be Friends with Your Ex? Should you?”

  1. Kelvin June 24, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Well depends, if the broke up is not because of 3rd party, then still can remain as friends:) BUT, if its cos of others, i'll definitely wipe out her existence in my brain.

  2. - c H i E n - June 24, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    lol. I had a really bad break up before. We didn't contact each other for almost a year, mainly because I didn't want to until we coincidentally got invited to the same party. Then we started talking again. But we're only h9i-bye friends now.

  3. Rayz June 25, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Friends still ok why not?

  4. kaioucat July 27, 2009 at 3:19 am #

    I agree with you on not keeping in touch with him (I wouldn't), but I don't condemn him for being disloyal. Lemme explain my statement.First, what's the point of staying friends when you obviously dislike him now? Even if u have forgiven him, it doesn't mean you should like him enough to be friends with him.To put it another way. If a normal friend is being disloyal to his/her partner, you wouldn't regard him/her as a good person, and who would befriend a good person?Having said that, I personally don't condemn him for what he did (cos I'm not the victim, but if I were, I'd totally abhor him…LOL). I dunno, I'm not an expert but I think human being's emotions can be that volatile. We're such flawed creatures. We can be so sure at one point that we will never ever hurt anyone like that, and the next second something comes up and all our so-called principles can flush right down the toilet.When that happens, the only thing we as human beings can do is to start fresh, try to be a better person. May not have to forgive and forget (again, we're not all saints), but move on. So yeah, you're right to cut all ties with ur ex, if that's what makes u happy. It's not like u're obliged to be nice to him. A girl's gotta watch out for herself. If the guy really realised his mistakes, good for him, but he probably shouldn't expect u to remain friendly with him.Good luck with ur current relationship =). And damn..sorry for the long-ass post. You can delete it if u want, it's just my opinion.

  5. par-fume August 3, 2009 at 12:33 am #

    Hi Shereen,It doesnt take a few years for ur ex to come back crawling to you…he's probably regretting months after he broke up to you to be honest,but right now he's feeling the pain in the ass for being a jackass(its rhymes:P)…Its good to ignore,since the break up isin't a good one.Its best to just keep it this way and continue with our lives without unnecessary people aroun you:)

Leave a Reply

